My Facebook Movie

So, in celebration of FB’s 10 year anniversary, they have created (an algorithm) a personal movie for everyone!

Curiously, I checked mine out last night. I have been on FB for almost 7 of those 10 years at varying degrees of participation.

More than 50% of my 1 minute self-indulgent “Kim fest” movie was pregnancy status messages and pregnancy pictures. I have publicly talked about my pregnancy on FB for only the last 3 months…I’m due in 6 weeks. I have posted a total of 10 pregnancy related pictures that have only been opened up to the 88 people who “liked” the status message requesting to see them. I have posted a total of 4 status messages related to the pregnancy, mostly about food. Those status messages, and 2 belly shots were declared “my most popular posts!” Again, all within the last 3 months. That number, those 88 people make up 35% of my FB friends and thus warrant one of my most popular status messages.

I get that having a child is a big deal. It’s rather monumental for me, as it is with any expectant mother.

One of my friends got a big promotion the other week (I don’t know if it was that “big” but I’m sure it was…she’s great). After posting it, (I went and did this math), 18% of her friends on FB “liked” this. Perhaps an additional amount left a comment. I just pulled this number from watching her movie. ::sheepish grin:: She later made a status message that said something to the effect of “well, it’s not a cute baby picture, but thanks for all of the support on my promotion!”

My point is…as I discussed this with my family on Christmas. Facebook=Mombook. It does for me too, it does. I’m not denying it. Not at all. I’m sure Bean will do crazy cute nonsense that I’ll share on FB. I will, there’s no denying it. I love logging on and seeing my cutie-pie nieces and nephews, my friends’ kids that are far away (or nearby).

Right…starting again. My point is…make sure you “like” the other stuff too. I know it can be tempting to just “like” the Mombook based stuff, but maybe go out of your way to appreciate something else that isn’t inside your realm, that isn’t part of your day-to-day life every once in a while. I get that kids are cute, but other people do cool stuff too and they’d like your support as well.

You never know what kind of future algorithm you could be promoting in someone else’s world.

This entry was posted in identity, pregnancy, soapbox and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Facebook Movie

  1. Logan says:

    I just found your blog after you commented on mine, and I’m so glad I did! I’m really enjoying reading back though your older posts. Thanks for sharing these parts of your life and your story.

  2. rdregge says:

    Hope I can use the right words here. I totally agree with your point, to appreciate all of it, not just the Mombook posts. As a side note, I’m really deliberate about every “like” I click, and a large percent of my feed is non-moms. Just a comment on those 88 people who opted to keep in the loop (of which I was one): it may not have been because of your pregnancy per se; for some of us it was because we are moved and/or delighted by all of your posts, and we don’t want to miss out on a single opportunity!

    • KimB says:

      Totally! Point absolutely taken and I don’t mean to sound ungrateful with it, rather just to point out numbers and popularity of posts. It’s not so much a passion post, just a comment.

  3. Jon Beall says:

    Bean can appear on Facebook when he is old enough to sign a model release. Can you imagine what Facebook (if it is around in 10 years) will do with all the kids on Facebook? Imagine an algorithm that creates a movie for kids whose parents posted about them on Facebook – “this was your childhood”. That goes from “bizarrely creepy” (a space they own now) to “creepy creepy”.

    Eesh. I’m going to re-read The Circle by Dave Eggers.

    Sincerely,
    Old Man Beall. (“hey kids – get off my lawn!”)

  4. Anthea says:

    Well, shoot. I typed a whole response and I think Facebook ate it. I’ll have to try again tomorrow with a real computer. Typing it all again on the iPad just seems like too much effort. What can I say, life is tough sometimes. Ha!

Leave a Reply

